Latest News


2022 George Stuart Memorial - Result


Played at Shandon Park Golf Club on Friday5 August.

Congratulations to Mervyn Perry (Knock) who won the Memorial Shield with a superb score of 41pts.


Full Results

1st Meryn Perry (Knock) 41pts

2nd Ross Docherty (Shandon) 39pts

3rd Brett Borkowski (Donaghadee) 38pts

Guest Andrew Moore (Bangor) 35pts

2022 Competition


The 2022 Draw is now CONFIRMED & available on the Draw & Sections tab.


To be played under the same temporary rules as 2021, provided below:




While the sections below provide details of specific Rules for 2022, all other Rules not temporarily superseded by these still apply.


The Committee has attempted to make things as clear as possible, but in the event of any doubt, please seek clarification from a Committee Member.




Handicap Index of 4.5 or higher at 1st January 2022.


A player whose Handicap Index is reduced to 4.0, even before he has played a match, is still eligible to compete.  A player is no longer eligible to compete in 2022 if his Handicap Index is reduced at any time below 4.0.




Ties in the Group Stage should be played in the order shown under Draw & Sections/Fixtures & Results on the website.


When communicating Group Stage results to Darryl, please provide both home & away scores.




In the Group Stage, Last 16, Quarter Finals & Semi Finals three matches will be played at one club and three matches at the other club, on the same day, ideally at the same time.


In the event of a tie in the Last 16, Quarter Finals or Semi Finals, then sudden-death tie holes should be played by the last-named players on the team sheet at the “away” venue.  The first-named team on the draw on the website are considered to be the “home” team, the second-named team are considered to be the “away” team.


It is hoped that subject to restrictions prevailing at the time, the Final can be played on the usual 5-man/2 leg home & away basis.


Team Sheets


A fully completed copy of the 2022 Team Sheet should be exchanged with the opposing team captain/representative at each venue prior to the start of play.




There is no requirement for meals to be provided, this is left to the discretion of team captains.




Caddies are not permitted.




Group stage matches can be played from Sun 1 May.


The deadlines for completion of each round are shown below:



To be completed no later than



Mon 11 July


Last 16

Mon 1 August


Quarter Finals

Mon 15 August


Semi Finals

Mon 29 August



Mon 19 September




Congratulations to Cairndhu GC, winners of the Holt Shield in 2021.


At the 2021 Presentation Dinner held at Cairndhu Golf Club on Saturday 23rd October, Club Captain David Johnston receives the Holt Shield from Chairman of the Holt Shield Committee Ian McNaught:

Bangor Club Captain David McMeechan receives the Runners-Up Shield:

Jonathan Anderson of Cairndhu was the very deserving winner of the Bobby Conroy Award: 

Above: the Cairndhu squad prior to play

Above: the Bangor squad prior to play

Above: the Bangor Club Captain David McMeechan & Team Captain Gareth Stranaghan receive the Runners-Up Shield & 2021 Pennant from Chairman of the Holt Shield Committee Ian McNaught

Above: the Cairndhu Club Captain David Johnston & Team Captain Gary McKinstry receive the Holt Shield & 2021 Pennant from Holt Shield Chairman Ian McNaught


Below: the successful Cairndhu squad


 The Holt Shield was founded in 1963 at a meeting in Belvoir Park GC, Belfast, NI.

Initially, the competing Clubs were from the Belfast area but over the years Clubs from the surrounding area also joined.

The first winners of the trophy were Clandeboye in 1963 and the most recent in 2021 were Cairndhu.

Please also check out our Facebook & Twitter pages.