Holt Shield 2024 Annual General Meeting

Minutes

<u>Present</u>

Robert Brown Chairman, Tony Campbell Hon. Secretary, Darryl Flannagan Hon. Treasurer, Colin Crozier Committee, Ian McNaught Committee, Mervyn Perry Committee, Johnny Greer Committee, Simon Johnston Shandon Park, Noel Fitzsimmons Kirkistown, Jonny McDowell City of Belfast, Ken McMaster Blackwood/Mahee, Chris Wadsworth Carrick, James Law Malone, Richard Patterson Hilton, Ron Greer Carnalea, Sam Gibson Lisburn, Frank McCracken Edenmore, Scott Malcolm Dunmurry, John Henry Cliftonville, Simon Harris Blackwood, Andrew McCoutley Carrick, Neil Roulston Lisburn.

Apologies

Stephen McComiskey Holywood, Gerry Rafferty Ballymena, Robert Blair Captain Shandon Park, Stuart Gilmore Ballyclare, Gary McKinstry Cairndhu, Andy Moore Bangor, Danny Duggan Ormeau, Harry Shepherd Cliftonville.

Adoption of 2023 AGM Minutes

The adoption of the minutes was proposed by Ian McNaught and seconded by Mervy Perry. There were no points of accuracy and the minutes were unanimously adopted.

Matters arising from the Minutes

There were no matters arising.

Hon. Secretary's Report for 2023

The Hon. Secretary read aloud his annual report. The key points of the report are as follows. The 2024 format will be the same as 2023. Cairndhu won the Holt Shield for the third time in six years beating Carrick in the final. The Bobby Conroy Award was won by Paul McKenna, Cairndhu. The George Stuart Memorial was won by Stuart Gilmore, Ballyclare. Ballyclare hosted the event in their Centenary year. Their Captain was presented with a special centenary pennant on behalf of the Holt Shield Committee. Whitehead has been invited to host the 2024 event. The retiring Chairman Robert Brown was thanked for his outstanding service in office and his successor Mervyn Perry was wished well for his tenure. The full report can be accessed on the Holt Shield website.

Hon. Treasurer's Report for 2023

The 2023 Statement of Accounts was proposed by Ian McNaught and seconded by Ron Greer. The Hon. Treasurer presented his report. He highlighted some expenditures and confirmed the closing balance of £3,599.50. The annual charitable donation of £381.00 was acknowledged. Any suggestions regarding future suitable benefactors would be welcomed.

The 2024 entries have yet to be processed. It was suggested the closing date should be mid-March, (17th March). It was also suggested that from next year the entry forms could be put on the website for easy accessibility.

Proposal for two additional Rules

a) 'The Holt Shield reserves the right to refuse the entry of any team'.

Proposer: Darryl Flannagan. Seconder: Colin Crozier.

After a short debate, it was agreed that the rule would not be stand-alone but would be incorporated into an appropriate existing rule and would be enforced only in extreme circumstances. This rule adjustment will be included on the agenda at the next Holt Shield committee meeting. The motion was adopted by a majority vote.

b) 'It is compulsory to use the official team sheet.'

Proposer: Colin Crozier. Seconder: Darryl Flannagan.

The motion was unanimously adopted.

Rule confirmation regarding 2024 Handicap Eligibility

'If a player's handicap goes below 5.5 between 1st July 2023 – 1st January 2024 he is not eligible to compete in the 2024 Holt Shield. He must also have 20 counting scores on his handicap record'.

This was for information only. It resulted in several clarification queries which helped clear up any ambiguity regarding handicap eligibility for 2024.

2024 George Stuart Memorial

Confirmation that this event will be played at Whitehead Golf Club on Friday 2^{nd} August, Tee-off from 1.30 pm. Dinner will follow the golf at 6.30 - 7.00 pm. As there were several new team captains in attendance the format of the

George Stuart competition was explained. Entry can be done by contacting a committee member and the list of entries will be posted on the website.

2024 Holt Shield Format and Draw

The format will be the same as 2023. The 2024 provisional draw was read out and will be posted on the website. The draw will only come live when all entries have been confirmed after the closing date, 17th March 2024. It was confirmed that the entry fee remains at £90.

The Holt Shield website was briefly explained and everyone was encouraged to access it for information and assistance.

Election of Officers for 2024/25

The following candidates were unanimously elected,

Chairman: Mervyn Perry, Knock Golf Club.

Hon. Secretary: Tony Campbell

Hon. Treasurer: Darryl Flannagan

Ian McNaught presented Robert Brown with a past Chairman's silver badge. In reply, Robert said he had a wonderful two years and was proud to represent and promote the Holt Shield. He was humbled to receive the respect and courtesy from the clubs he visited. He went on to present Mervyn Perry with the silver Chairman's badge of office and wished him a successful tenure.

In reply, Mervyn said that when he took over from Jim Aston as Knock's Holt Shield team manager in never dreamt that he would be Chairman in 2024. He holds the Holt Shield competition in high esteem and over the years he has met many people and has formed many good friendships. He thanked everyone for attending the AGM and wished them every success in the 2024 competition.

Any Other Business

As there was no business raised, Mervyn closed the meeting and generously invited everyone to join him for a drink.

Tony Campbell

Hon. Secretary